Riverside Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys
It is illegal to commit an assault, battery or criminal threat against anyone. However, if the alleged victim is your fiancè, spouse, cohabitant, dating partner or the parent of your child, California domestic violence laws make the allegation more serious. Below is a list of the most common domestic violence charges in California.
PENAL CODE SECTION 273.5-CORPORAL INJURY TO A SPOUSE OR COHABITANT
Penal Code § 273.5 makes it illegal to inflict a "corporal injury" resulting in a "traumatic condition." A person commits this crime by striking his/her intimate partner in some violent way and causing a visible injury, even a slight one such as swelling or a bruise. This California domestic violence law can be charged if the alleged victim is a current or former spouse or cohabitant or the parent of your child.
This offense can be a misdemeanor or felony, and, if convicted If convicted, require the successful completion of 52 weeks of domestic violence counseling, as well as probation, community service and the issuance of restraining orders. In addition, misdemeanors can be punished with up to 12 months in jail and large fines. Felony charges can carry up to four years in prison and large fines.
PENAL CODE SECTION 273.6 - VIOLATION OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE RESTRAINING ORDER
Penal code § 273.6 makes it illegal to violate a domestic violence restraining order. If you have been charged or convicted of a domestic violence offense, a judge may have issued an order requiring you to stay out of contact with the alleged victim. If a judge in fact issued such an order, you may be guilty of violating that order if you:
- Knew about the order; and
- Intentionally violated that order.
PENAL CODE SECTION 243(E)(1)-DOMESTIC BATTERY
Penal Code § 243(e)(1) makes it a misdemeanor crime to inflict force or violence on an intimate partner. This includes your fiancè, cohabitant, the parent of your child, or your current or former spouse or dating partner. Unlike Penal Code 273.5, this California domestic violence law does not require a visible injury.
Start Building Your Defense Plan Today
Contact us today to begin building your defense strategy. For over 30 years our team of criminal defense attorneys has defended thousands of criminal cases. Our firm lectures criminal defense lawyers across the country. We have obtained countless not guilty verdicts in jury trials, and obtained favorable results at the pre-trial stage. There are many defenses that may be applicable to your case.
An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you put on a successful defense to domestic violence charges. People are often falsely accused of domestic violence for reasons related to separation battles and other personal agendas. In addition, the person arrested and charged is often the actual victim of the abuse, and not the aggressor.
Let Us Make the Difference in Your Case
Bartell, Hensel & Gressley has defended thousands of criminal defense cases, and our team of domestic violence defense lawyers train other attorneys across the nation on criminal defense. Who you hire can make all the difference in your case. Call us today at (951) 788-2230 to get our team of criminal defense lawyers on your case.
Bartell, Hensel & Gressley has offices in Temecula and Riverside, and practices throughout Riverside, San Bernardino, Menifee, Murrieta, and Orange County.
We understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most challenging times of your life. Rely on us to advocate for your rights and to give you the defense you deserve.